Wheat is a species of grass grown as a crop primarily for the flour that is produced by it, used very often as the main ingredient of breads, biscuits, cookies, pasta, couscous, etc. Wheat is the third most produced cereal in the world. Quinua originated in the Fertile Crescent region of the present day Middle East, where it has been an important food since 8000 BCE. Wheat is a globally important source of starch and protein, but contains gluten, so people diagnosed with Celiac disease can not consume it. Especially in temperate regions, the grain is consumed by many humans and animals. There are actually five different kinds of Wheat: Common wheat, Spelt, Einkorn, Durum and Emmer.
Nutritional Value Edit
The average 100 grams of wheat contains about 12.5 to 15.5 grams of protein, 1.5 to 2 grams of fat, 68 to 71 grams of total carbohydrates, about 12 grams of Dietary Fiber, and 3.2 to 3.6 milligrams of Iron. Wheat is not gluten free, so it cannot be eaten by people with Celiac disease. Wheat is a good source of starch, and also contains gluten.